Skip to content

Swimming again

May 2, 2014

For such a long time, I was reading because I had to.  Because I was searching for something that medical staff needed.  Because I was trying to finish yet another Master’s degree.  Because somewhere in there was hidden the single drop that was needed from an ocean of knowledge.  And now I am reading because it is getting to be fun again.  Cool.

I spent my youth going to the library and taking an armful of books off the shelf where I had left off, and then returning the next week for the next armful at the new starting point.  If I read three biographies of Ben Franklin or Florence Nightingale in a row, it was ok with me.  Taught me a lot about point of view, bias, and the relative skills of authors.  When I went to college and worked as a droid in the library, I had the weekend and Sunday shifts at my suitcase college because I was a local—and the library was a science fiction repository.  What I had not read in sci-fi between the fifth and ninth grades, I read, or re-read in college.  Then the trouble started.

Real world “read and report” stuff came calling.  Do toilet chemicals used in RVs disrupt the ecology of septic systems into which they are dumped, and how does this affect the pristine nature of various natural preserves?  How about various chemicals used to de-ice roads?  How do we take and handle liquid water samples in sub-zero weather?  Well, the answers have to be in here somewhere.

But now I am finding time to read for grins, and as a consequence, I am grinning.  People say that one should never say “I like books” or “I like reading” when interviewing for a library job.  OK.  Noted.  Enjoy yourself, mliswilltravel.

“Little knowledge imparts to people great pride; great knowledge imparts humility.  Thus, ears empty of grain disdainfully lift up their heads to heaven, whereas those full bend theirs low, toward the earth, their mother.”

In Book Six: The Diary of Giovanni Beltraffio, from The Romance of Leonardo Da Vinci, by Dmitri Merejkowski, translated from the Russian, 1928, The Modern Library, Inc.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

