Skip to content

the Big Sweat is upon us

July 17, 2014

Do you find it hard to think in the heat and humidity? My brain and the rest of me waits for late October, when I may think again, and work in the garden without perceptible dripping. But, gift of the gods, we have had a couple days of cool nights. Not quite enough to pull me out of my aestivation, but very pleasant, nonetheless. There was almost a spring in my step on my way home as a result, as sweat was not burdening me.

First batch of fresh green jalapeno hot sauce, thick, sharp, and full of chile flavor. First moonflower blossoms. Young of the year include squirrels, ducks, hawks, and all the songbirds one can imagine. I love seeing the young try out their moves, with their feathers or fur not quite on straight (yet). Reminds me of me, once upon a time.

“All things did he know, and all things did he love, inasmuch as great love is the daughter of great knowledge.”

In Book Ten: Still Waves, et al, from The Romance of Leonardo Da Vinci, by Dmitri Merejkowski, translated from the Russian, 1928, The Modern Library, Inc.

ZEAL, n. A certain nervous disorder afflicting the young and inexperienced. A passion that goeth before a sprawl.

From The Devil’s Dictionary. Ambrose Bierce, 1911.

Spare us from zeal, mliswilltravel.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

