Skip to content

Go with your gut

September 25, 2014

Wishing you a great Autumn. Such exceptional timing to have cool mornings right on schedule with the equinox. The coconut oil has solidified, the migrant birds are emptying feeders at a terrific rate, the owls are beginning mating behavior, and I am making a batch of hot sauce per week with my red ripe jalapenos (bottling Summer). Where did I put those flannel sheets? First frost here averages 15November, but what do I know.

I have had my notion to go with my gut reaffirmed recently by poor outcomes. Instead of giving folks a planning session that would have presented my skills and background as an exercise in getting to know each other, and formulating an actual work plan, I listened to the folks in charge, restrained myself, and then was disappointed in the results.

When met with constraint and rigidity, I am in the wrong place. When the shape of the hole is supposed to be decided upon, but it turns out it is square after all, and you are just not that kind of peg—ah well, as Jimmy Buffet says, it’s my own fault. Faults, actually.

Very instructive. Gut, go with it. Reaffirmed? Yes, otherwise you are wasting your time.

Go with your gut, mliswilltravel

Search and see if there is not some place where you may invest your humanity. –Albert Schweitzer

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

