Skip to content

Time for a change

July 30, 2015

Ladies and Gentlemen,

On the strength of 11 years in a hospital medical library, I was offered a job at an academic medical library upon my graduation with an MLIS in May of 2013. Adding this degree to my MS and MPH made sense to me, because in the hospital library, I had found a group of folks who needed information, I could help them get it—and my customer service gene got exercised.  I had found meaningful work in this modern world.

For two years I have been working in Tech Services, with almost no customer contact, so I have begun volunteering at public libraries, hoping to get my foot (feet, actually) in the door there. Wish me luck. I would like to work with people who are trying to learn something on a daily basis, and I know I can help them out, given a chance.  That is, I think that a public or school library where I get to work with learners every day is where I belong.

Hope your many efforts are going smoothly, mliswilltravel

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

