Skip to content

Reading and Observing

January 17, 2017

13Jan2017–First day of Spring by my reckoning, as on this one day I heard the first territorial cardinal singing, saw the first honeybee of the year, received my first biting fly bite, stood in my first fire ant bed of the year, worked the garden shirtless, heard a toad calling, saw a teeny tiny lizard among the rose thorns, and a large flight of flickers feeding on the ground. This is within a week of temps in the teens, and our high temp yesterday was 80. Just sayin.

Much like Harry Potter (earlier posts), I am 20 years late in reading Cormac McCarthy. Was given the Border Trilogy books, and have read All the Pretty Horses and have begun The Crossing. I credit McCarthy with forcing me to forget my sensibilities of plot and dialogue in favor of diving in midstream with him and his characters, and I was soon caught up in the booted intrigue of …Horses. The Crossing is a bit more conventional, with yet another young man lacking impulse control as the lead, but satisfying overall. And, I get to practice my rusty skills at opening reference texts to the right page on the first try as I leaf through my Spanish dictionary to get to the nuts of his dialogue. McCarthy sometimes just likes to hear himself talk, as most humans do, but I like his spare and wry way of looking at the world, for the most part. And such a world he channels.

I hope you are channeling the world you wish, mliswilltravel

“He thought the world’s heart beat at some terrible cost and that the world’s pain and its beauty moved in a relationship of diverging equity and that in this headlong deficit the blood of multitudes might ultimately be exacted for the vision of a single flower.” All the Pretty Horses, Cormac McCarthy–just an example of liking to hear himself talk. Dense and convoluted. If you rejoice in the music of language, great. If you delight in convolution and density, see also Elaine Svenonius, The Intellectual Foundation of Information Organization.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

