Skip to content

Deeper into Summer, more shallow in reading

July 16, 2017

I just don’t settle down and read much anymore. Too much to do [he says, who excels at ignoring housework in favor of piddlin in the yard]. Barbara Kingsolver remains entertaining via Animal, Vegetable, Miracle, and I have piles and piles of books—and they remain in piles, including Orwell’s 1984. Like I said, 1984 is just too real these days, and even though I prefer non-fiction, this is not the dystopia I had in mind. Dang.

A visiting artist who works from photos did my portrait, which is something she says is her favorite thing to do. Emily Mitchell is from Austin, is a classroom teacher, has a new happy bubbly baby, and will be with us thru July. If you want to see her work and/or commission a portrait, go to emilymitchellart.com. She seemed to find a window into my sadness with her drawing, and I thank her for showing me what others see. At this point, I have given up on being able to change the world except in the case of those things I can put my hands upon. So be it; my sadness is well-earned, I think.

Things on the turtle front look up, with mini turtles sighted and fed. The figs are in, so turtles are being fed figs instead of strawberries, and I need to rework my strawberries (pull the woody ones and let the young ones come along). The sunflowers are taller than anything in my asparagus and perennial bed, which is to be expected, and the understory of peanuts is feeding everything with the nitrogen the legumes are fixing. Too wet for peppers and tomatoes to really prosper, but…..there is a silver lining somewhere, as the bumper crop of toads will provide evenings of song as soon as they find their voices. All ok here, you??

Hope you prosper, mliswilltravel.

Close relative of Jimmy Durante?

Road rocks from points West:

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

